2016 Triumph Hurdle

The Triumph Hurdle is the most prestigious Grade 1 hurdles event for novices at the Cheltenham Festival.

The Triumph Hurdle is also one of the oldest races of the Cheltenham Festival and was first run at Hurst Park in 1939. The race was incorporated into the Cheltenham Festival in 1965 when the Hurst Park racing facilities were closed, and was won that year by Blarney Beacon ridden by Geordie Ramshaw.

The Triumph Hurdle is run over 2 miles and 1 furlong and horses are required to clear eight hurdles during the race. Entry is restricted to four-year-old novice hurdlers.

Triumph Hurdle Betting Odds

Triumph Hurdle Winners

Although Irish jockeys have performed well in the Triumph Hurdle, their dominance has not been as pronounced as in some of the other Cheltenham Festival races.

In recent years English jockeys Robert Thornton and Richard Johnson have made the race their own, holding off the strong Irish contenders since 2004. The most successful jockey in the history of the event is Jimmy Uttley who emerged as the Triumph Hurdle winner three times between 1967 and 1971.

Because the Triumph Hurdle is run by four-year-old novice racehorses the race delivers a new winner in each year of running. Nicky Henderson is the most successful trainer in the history of the event, having trained three Triumph Hurdle winners.